Content Publishers or Editors with the permission to publish/expire blocks are able to to publish or expire content blocks at specified dates and times. This feature can be used on any block type (rich text, news, calendars, etc.) and allows for the scheduled display or removal of content from a page so that content can be hidden from the public before or after a specified date/time.
Note: This feature will publish/expire an entire block at the designated time. This is not the same as setting and archive date for a specific news post or expiration date for a specific spotlight.
Adding publish/expiration dates for content blocks
- Edit any page with content blocks, click the Publish/Expire button on the block.
- Toggle the Publishing or Expiration buttons to yes or no, as needed. Note: a selection of 'No' for either will indicate no action is taken. A block can have both a publish and expiration date, one or the other, or neither.
Note: Only set a publish date for blocks that should publish in the future. For content that is to be published when the page is published, a publish date is not necessary.
- Set the publish or expiration date and time for when the content should become available or unavailable to visitors.
- Click the Save button to close the window.
When content is visible but set to expire, the content block will have tan stripes running through it. The stripes are only visible in the edit view. Website visitors will not see the stripes.
Not yet published or expired content blocks will contain grey stripes in the edit view. The content will still be visible when editing the page to use at a future date, or delete completely. Until the block reaches the scheduled publish date or the expiration date is changed or removed, the content will be invisible to website visitors.