A new feature for Content Publishers allows users to expire content blocks. The expire feature can be used on any block type (rich text, news, calendars etc.) and allows for the scheduled removal of content from a page so that content can be hidden from the public after a specified date/time.
Adding expiration dates for content blocks
- Edit a page containing content to be expired.
- Click the expire button on the block.
- Toggle the expire content button to yes.
- Set the expiration date and time for when the content should become unavailable to visitors.
- Click the expire content block button to close the window.
When content is set to expire in the future, the content block will have tan stripes running through it. The strips are only visible in edit view, to signal that the content is set to expire. Website visitors will not see the stripes.
In edit view, expired content blocks will contain grey stripes. The content will still be available to editors to use at a future date, or delete completely. Unless the expiration date is changed or removed, the content will be invisible to website visitors.