Files can now be moved from one folder to another. Once moved, the file URL will be updated to reflect the new folder and links to the file within website content will be automatically updated to prevent broken links.
In addition, the CMS will now provide a warning when linked files are being deleted. To reduce broken links, a list of pages containing a link to the file being deleted will be displayed during the deletion process. The user can find and correct any links prior to deletion.
Moving a File
- Click Files from the admin panel menu to view the files list.
- Find the file to be moved. Click the file's gear menu and choose Move.
- Choose a file folder from the New folder dropdown as the destination for where the file will be moved.
- The Files Title and File Name can changed during the same process if desired.
- Click Save to complete the move. The file will be moved and all links to the file will be updated.
Renaming a File
- From the files list, find the file to be renamed. Click the file's gear menu and choose Rename.
- The New Title field can be used to rename the file and the New File Name can be used to update the file's URL
- Click Save to complete the rename. All links to the file will be updated.
Deleting a File
- From the files list, find the file to be deleted. Click the file's gear menu and choose Delete. Note: Multiple files can be selected to be deleted by clicking the checkbox next to the filename. Each file will still be checked for use on the website.
- If references to the file are found on the website, a list of them will be generated and displayed when the Show Details bar is expanded. From the list of references, the pages can be edited to remove or update the locations where the file is referenced.
- The file can still be deleted with or without references. Click the checkbox next to the file to confirm deletion as well as the checkbox above the delete button.
Note: If a file with references is deleted without corrections to the references, the link will become broken or image removed from the page. It is recommended to remove links to the file prior to deletion to avoid broken links
- Click the Delete button to remove the file from the CMS.